Viareggio

During our study abroad experience, we got one free day. Some friends and I decided to go to a little beach town called Viareggio. We picked it because it was the shortest train ride we could find to the coast, but it ended up being a great time.

We woke up at 6 am to catch the earliest train. The train was late so we had to run to our connecting train. I find running to catch trains so much fun for some reason. Emilee would be really proud of my train navigation.

The view of the mountains and the beach was beautiful. I wish I had a better picture. The water was a little murky from the imported sand. I like rocky beaches better because you can see the bottom. Hanging out on the beach with friends is always a awesome time.

When we started walking back, we stopped at a gelato shop. I saw a little boy and waved (because I just love tiny humans) and his mom ended up asking us if we could watch him while she went to the bathroom. I thought it was kind of funny that she would let three 19 year old girls she didn’t know watch her baby. Maybe it is just a cultural difference but I thought it was sweet.

 

Leave a comment